scrabbalize.git
11 years agoInstead of setting the coordinates for the window, call [window center] in [awakeFromNib] master 2.0
Robert Sesek [Thu, 5 Jun 2008 20:23:32 +0000 (16:23 -0400)]
Instead of setting the coordinates for the window, call [window center] in [awakeFromNib]

* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib: Add an outlet for NSWindow in AppDelegate
* Source/AppController.m+h: Add an ivar for NSWindow
(awakeFromNib): New method to center window

11 years agoMinor change to the algorithm to support wildcards
Robert Sesek [Thu, 5 Jun 2008 19:49:24 +0000 (15:49 -0400)]
Minor change to the algorithm to support wildcards

* Source/AppController.m:
(findWords:): Don't decrement k if we deal with a wildcard

11 years agoTurn on alternating row colors for the word list
Robert Sesek [Thu, 5 Jun 2008 19:14:57 +0000 (15:14 -0400)]
Turn on alternating row colors for the word list

* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib

11 years agoDon't select any rows in the list display
Robert Sesek [Thu, 5 Jun 2008 19:09:56 +0000 (15:09 -0400)]
Don't select any rows in the list display

* Source/AppController.m:
(findWords:): Explicitly deselect all the rows and columns

11 years agoFinished the algorithm for finding words
Robert Sesek [Thu, 5 Jun 2008 19:07:14 +0000 (15:07 -0400)]
Finished the algorithm for finding words

* Source/AppController.m:
(findWords:)

11 years agoSet springs on the GradientBackView
Robert Sesek [Thu, 29 May 2008 16:07:14 +0000 (12:07 -0400)]
Set springs on the GradientBackView

* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib

11 years agoDo not #include the non-existent NSStringAdditions.h
Robert Sesek [Thu, 29 May 2008 15:48:40 +0000 (11:48 -0400)]
Do not #include the non-existent NSStringAdditions.h

* Source/AppController.m

11 years agoRemoving the NSStringAdditions.m+h file because we no longer need it
Robert Sesek [Wed, 28 May 2008 23:05:26 +0000 (19:05 -0400)]
Removing the NSStringAdditions.m+h file because we no longer need it

* NSStringAdditions.h: Removed
* NSStringAdditions.m: Removed
* Scrabbalize.xcodeproj: Project updates for the removed files

11 years agoMaking this v2.0
Robert Sesek [Wed, 28 May 2008 20:53:46 +0000 (16:53 -0400)]
Making this v2.0

* Info.plist

11 years agoSome pixel shifting to get everything lined up correctly. Centered the search box...
Robert Sesek [Wed, 28 May 2008 20:51:04 +0000 (16:51 -0400)]
Some pixel shifting to get everything lined up correctly. Centered the search box and moving the gradient back view up one

* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib

11 years agoRemove the focus ring on the search box
Robert Sesek [Wed, 28 May 2008 20:48:34 +0000 (16:48 -0400)]
Remove the focus ring on the search box

* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib

11 years agoAdding a nice gradient to the background to make the app look even prettier
Robert Sesek [Wed, 28 May 2008 20:47:41 +0000 (16:47 -0400)]
Adding a nice gradient to the background to make the app look even prettier

* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib: Add the Custion View
* English.lproj/gradient.png: New file
* Source/GradientBackView.m+h: New files
* Scrabbalize.xcodeproj: Project updates for new files

11 years agoMaking the UI less 10.2-ish and more 10.5-ish
Robert Sesek [Wed, 28 May 2008 20:42:07 +0000 (16:42 -0400)]
Making the UI less 10.2-ish and more 10.5-ish

* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib

11 years agoAlgorithm updates. We no longer crash/get raise:'d but we miss words.
Robert Sesek [Wed, 28 May 2008 20:33:25 +0000 (16:33 -0400)]
Algorithm updates. We no longer crash/get raise:'d but we miss words.

* Source/AppController.m:
(-[findWords:])

11 years agoForgot to bump the copyright year in Info.plist
Robert Sesek [Thu, 22 May 2008 01:55:54 +0000 (21:55 -0400)]
Forgot to bump the copyright year in Info.plist

* Info.plist

11 years agoRemoving the NSCoder methods of the Word class
Robert Sesek [Thu, 22 May 2008 01:47:28 +0000 (21:47 -0400)]
Removing the NSCoder methods of the Word class

* Source/Word.m:
(-[initWithCoder:]): Removed
(-[encodeWithCoder:]): Removed

11 years agoMaking the app 10.4 compatible by disabling garbage collection
Robert Sesek [Thu, 22 May 2008 01:45:59 +0000 (21:45 -0400)]
Making the app 10.4 compatible by disabling garbage collection

* Scrabbalize.xcodeproj: Disable GC and link against 10.4u
* Source/AppController.m:
(-[dealloc]): New method

11 years agoBumping the copyright year to 2008
Robert Sesek [Thu, 22 May 2008 01:41:17 +0000 (21:41 -0400)]
Bumping the copyright year to 2008

11 years agoOur algorithm no longer causes exceptions, but it's wrong
Robert Sesek [Thu, 22 May 2008 01:36:23 +0000 (21:36 -0400)]
Our algorithm no longer causes exceptions, but it's wrong

* Source/AppController.m
(-[findWords:])

11 years agoRemoving the extra dictionary tool because it's not really needed. Instead, we will...
Robert Sesek [Thu, 22 May 2008 01:30:12 +0000 (21:30 -0400)]
Removing the extra dictionary tool because it's not really needed. Instead, we will merely load the words, from text, at startup

* Dictionary/dictionary.txt: Moved ..
* Dictionary/: Removed
* dictionary.ka: Removed
* Source/AppController.h: Making the dictionary ivar mutable
* Source/AppController.m:
(-[init]): Load the words from dictionary.txt
(-[findWords:]): Still a broken algorithm, but making progress

11 years agoWorking on a new algorithm that includes wild card matching and that uses alphagrams
Robert Sesek [Thu, 22 May 2008 01:23:10 +0000 (21:23 -0400)]
Working on a new algorithm that includes wild card matching and that uses alphagrams

* Source/AppController.m:
(-[findWords:])

11 years agoWe forgot to tell the Word class to actually generate the alphagram
Robert Sesek [Thu, 22 May 2008 00:51:41 +0000 (20:51 -0400)]
We forgot to tell the Word class to actually generate the alphagram

* Dictionary/Dictionary.m: Removed an NSLog()
* Source/Word.m:
(-[initWithWord:]): Need to actually call -[createAlphagram]

11 years agoAdding an alphagram ivar to Word which is calculated and then stored in the keyed...
Robert Sesek [Wed, 21 May 2008 20:54:46 +0000 (16:54 -0400)]
Adding an alphagram ivar to Word which is calculated and then stored in the keyed archive

* Dictionary/Dictionary.m: Create Word objects and archive them rather than NSStrings
* Dictionary/Dictionary.xcodeproj: Switch to C99 mode and include Word.m/h
* Scrabbalize.xcodeproj: Mysterious project updates?
* Source/Word.h: Adding alphagram ivar and getter
* Source/Word.m:
(-[dealloc]): New method
(-[initWithCoder:]): New method
(-[encodeWithCoder:]): New method
(-[alphagram]): New method
(-[createAlphagram]): New method
(-[description]): Include the alphagram in the description

11 years agoChanging the dictionary to use LF instead of CRLF
Robert Sesek [Wed, 21 May 2008 20:48:50 +0000 (16:48 -0400)]
Changing the dictionary to use LF instead of CRLF

* dictionary.txt

11 years agoTurn off deubgging symbols for the release target 1.0
Robert Sesek [Sat, 22 Dec 2007 08:08:59 +0000 (00:08 -0800)]
Turn off deubgging symbols for the release target

* Scrabbalize.xcodeproj

11 years agoMaking the project no longer a beta and adding a GPL notice in the about window
Robert Sesek [Sat, 22 Dec 2007 05:59:26 +0000 (21:59 -0800)]
Making the project no longer a beta and adding a GPL notice in the about window

* English.lproj/InfoPlist.strings: Adding a note about this being GPLv2
* Info.plist: Taking Scrabbalize out of beta

11 years agoUpdating the dictionary with more words learned from Text Twist testing
Robert Sesek [Sat, 22 Dec 2007 05:50:57 +0000 (21:50 -0800)]
Updating the dictionary with more words learned from Text Twist testing

* Dictionary/dictionary.txt
* dictionary.ka

11 years agoAdding an icon for the application
Robert Sesek [Sat, 22 Dec 2007 05:50:14 +0000 (21:50 -0800)]
Adding an icon for the application

* Icon.psd: Original file
* Info.plist: Update for icon path
* Scrabbalize.icns: Composed icon file
* Scrabbalize.xcodeproj: Project updates for the resources

11 years agoMore dictionary updates
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 21:46:14 +0000 (16:46 -0500)]
More dictionary updates

11 years agoFound a better way to remove all the objects in the wordlist ivar
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 21:27:44 +0000 (16:27 -0500)]
Found a better way to remove all the objects in the wordlist ivar

* Source/AppController.m:
([AppController findWords:]): Improved the way we remove all the objects to clear the NSArrayController

11 years agoUpdating the dictionary with words we found were missing from testing against Text...
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 21:26:40 +0000 (16:26 -0500)]
Updating the dictionary with words we found were missing from testing against Text Twist

* Dictionary/dictionary.txt: More words
* dictionary.ka: Rebuild archive

11 years agoForgot to add the GPL header to a file
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 20:51:31 +0000 (15:51 -0500)]
Forgot to add the GPL header to a file

* Source/NSStringAdditions.m: Added header

11 years agoDo not allow users to resize or edit the table values
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 20:45:51 +0000 (15:45 -0500)]
Do not allow users to resize or edit the table values

* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib

11 years agoFinished the algorithm for checking the words. We now make sure the word isn't too...
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 20:37:11 +0000 (15:37 -0500)]
Finished the algorithm for checking the words. We now make sure the word isn't too long, does not contain other characters, and the occurrence of the characters in the word is less than or equal to the number in the tile string

* Source/NSStringAdditions.h:
* Source/NSStringAdditions.m:
([NSString(NSStringAdditions) occurenceOfChar:]): New Method
* Scrabbalize.xcodeproj: Project changes for NSStringAdditions
* Source/AppController.m: Use the new algorithm and occurence method

11 years agoSet up the build number and bundle versions
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 20:15:22 +0000 (15:15 -0500)]
Set up the build number and bundle versions

* Info.plist
* Scrabbalize.xcodeproj: Build script to generate git number

11 years agoSetting the springs on the tiles field
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 20:09:35 +0000 (15:09 -0500)]
Setting the springs on the tiles field

* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib

11 years agoRemoving the man file for Dictionary
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 20:06:37 +0000 (15:06 -0500)]
Removing the man file for Dictionary

* Dictionary/Dictionary.1: Removed

11 years agoRemoving the blank line at the end of the dictionary so we don't get an empty string
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 20:04:55 +0000 (15:04 -0500)]
Removing the blank line at the end of the dictionary so we don't get an empty string

* Dictionary/dictionary.txt: Removed empty line
* dictionary.ka: Rebuilt archive

11 years agoAdding some comments to the -[findWords:] method
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 20:03:38 +0000 (15:03 -0500)]
Adding some comments to the -[findWords:] method

* Source/AppController.m

11 years agoAutomatically sort the words by length
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 19:52:14 +0000 (14:52 -0500)]
Automatically sort the words by length

* Source/AppController.h: Outlet for the table view
* Source/AppController.m:
([AppController findWords:]): Set the sort descriptors appropriately
* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib: Hook up the table view outlet

11 years agoWe now populate the word list appropriately
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 19:47:53 +0000 (14:47 -0500)]
We now populate the word list appropriately

* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib: Hooking up interface
* Source/AppController.h: wordlist ivar is now an NSArrayController again
* Source/AppController.m: ditto

11 years agoCreating a new model object to manage words to use for bindings
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 18:24:42 +0000 (13:24 -0500)]
Creating a new model object to manage words to use for bindings

* Source/Word.m: New class that represents a word object
* Source/Word.h: ditto
* Scrabbalize.xcodeproj: Project changes for Word
* Source/AppController.m: Use the new Word class in the wordlist ivar
* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib: Hook up the bindings appropriately

11 years agoChanging the wordlist ivar to be a NSMutableArray rather than a NSArrayController
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 18:15:14 +0000 (13:15 -0500)]
Changing the wordlist ivar to be a NSMutableArray rather than a NSArrayController

* Source/AppController.h:
* Source/AppController.m:
* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib: Removed the outlet

11 years agoBeginning the filtering mechanism
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 18:12:47 +0000 (13:12 -0500)]
Beginning the filtering mechanism

* Source/AppController.h: Adding outlets and actions
* Source/AppController.m: Initial filtering mechanism
* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib: Hooking up the interface, with the exception of the word table

11 years agoChanging the language dialect to C99 and enabling garbage collection
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 17:44:12 +0000 (12:44 -0500)]
Changing the language dialect to C99 and enabling garbage collection

* Scrabbalize.xcodeproj

11 years agoSetting up the AppController as the delegate so that we can load the dictionary archive
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 17:41:46 +0000 (12:41 -0500)]
Setting up the AppController as the delegate so that we can load the dictionary archive

* Source/AppController.m: New file
* Source/AppController.h: New file
* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib: Setting up AppController to be NSApp's delegate
* Scrabbalize.xcodeproj: Project changes for AppController
* dictionary.ka: Built keyed dictionary archive

11 years agoWe now have a completed tool that creates the keyed archive for the dictionary
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 17:29:08 +0000 (12:29 -0500)]
We now have a completed tool that creates the keyed archive for the dictionary

* Dictionary/Dictionary.m

11 years agoAdding a tool that will generate the dictionary archive
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 17:08:00 +0000 (12:08 -0500)]
Adding a tool that will generate the dictionary archive

11 years agoCreating the basic layout of the application
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 16:50:46 +0000 (11:50 -0500)]
Creating the basic layout of the application

* English.lproj/MainMenu.nib

11 years agoAdding a blank new Xcode project
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 16:42:14 +0000 (11:42 -0500)]
Adding a blank new Xcode project

11 years agoAdding a blank .gitignore
Robert Sesek [Mon, 17 Dec 2007 16:34:14 +0000 (11:34 -0500)]
Adding a blank .gitignore